PDA

View Full Version : Help! Need advice on family property...

outlierquest
04-23-12, 02:20 AM
Hello suitors,

I just received a disturbing phone call from my father. My grandmother, who will turn 94 in two weeks, just went senile and is going into a facility with round the clock care. My father said the state of Texas said she will be cared for until the end. In the process, the property and home that she has had since the 1930's is going to become property of the state. Unfortunately, the meeting with the state attorney is tomorrow. My father doesn't know what to do. He believes in some of the truths I've been sharing with him, but is from the old school of thought and very resistant to change. I am still new to the game and do not know what to do. At the very least, I'd love to email a document to him to show the attorney. Something that would stall the process while I come up with a game plan. Anyone have any ideas?

Pleadingly,
Micha

Treefarmer
04-23-12, 02:42 AM
Who is signing the paperwork?
Who has power of attorney over grandma's person and estate?

I would think that whoever has power of attorney will be calling the shots.

David Merrill
04-23-12, 03:21 AM
Keep her out of the facility. Examine what kind of insurance and Medicare/Medicaid benefits are available. At 84 you should have some idea based on her past care. I think it rare that she just went senile. But maybe it is a minor stroke that has made a major deterioration or something like that.

If you cannot keep her out of the facility then the automatic lien on the house will be difficult to prevent.