Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Business Owners and Lawful Money Tax Returns

Business Owners and Lawful Money Tax Returns

I need some input here from any suitors that run their own businesses.

Hopefully you will sacrifice a little bit of your time and charitably contribute
    to this thread.

I've been redeeming lawful money for over 2 years, and have copies (front and back)
    of all checks that I've done this to.

I'm a sole proprietor, and have a business license from my state.

I do not have a "business" bank account. I just run two personal checking
    accounts and a saving account, using one of the checking accounts for the
    business, and the savings for the local sales tax I have to pay quarterly here
    to the local borough.

Customers give me personal checks, or pay online with PayPal.

With Paypal, there was no way to do anything with a restricted endorsement
    so I just withdraw from Paypal via check and apply the endorsement to that.

Running my business costs a reasonable amount of money (expenses), which are
    to be deducted from the total (gross) amount.

The problem I'm having is if I only declare the amount of money that I wasn't
    able to apply my demand to, I come out way negative (loss) after expenses.

This would be things like having to do an electronic transfer to my bank,
    or making purchases direct from my PayPal debit card. This is a much smaller
    amount than the lawful money amount.

The goal is obviously to be completely honest in all of my dealings, so on my return
    I declare all of my expenses, which is what runs me into the red.

Maybe I'm missing something very simple here, but I need to figure out how to
    do this accounting under this system.

If I only report expenses that I paid with Fed notes, then it will appear deceiving,
    as my business would have obviously had more expenses than that.

So my question is how are you guys writing this up?

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Axe View Post